My thoughts on GIRLBOSS series

I’m actually not that type who watches a lot of series. I rarely do. I watched like 3 or 4 series in my whole life and Girlboss is one of them. So, I thought why not sharing my thoughts on this Netflix show since I recently have watched it.

I know, it was released on 2017. It’s a little bit old for some people, but for me I don’t really care about the release date if I like the series itself. Unfortunately the second season is cancelled. I really hope Netflix would change their minds.

Anyways, this American comedy web television series is based on Sophia Amoruso’s autobiography #Girlboss, which tells the story of how Amoruso started the company “Nasty Gal” while working as a campus safety host for San Francisco’s Academy of Art University. It is composed of 13 episodes.

She got her idea from selling her vintage motorcycle jacket, that she bought for only 9 dollars, on eBay for way much more money. And this encouraged her to start her own vintage clothing business and named her brand “Nasty Gal”.

  • Positive points:

Sophia is a girl with a strong personality. Her style of clothing represents that gal who dresses for herself and not to please other people. She believes and trusts her ability to achieve her goal which is running her own business. She wants to be unique in her creativity and this made her successful. However, her father doesn’t believe in her, he always doubts her, and he thinks she is still a young girl who doesn’t know what she wants as a career yet. Nonetheless, she proved him wrong and made her dream come true.

  • Negative points:

Sophia ,sometimes, is a selfish girl who doesn’t care about anyone around her.  I didn’t like her in 2 episodes where she said hurtful things to both her boyfriend and her best friend. Fortunately, she corrected her mistakes and she apologized. Wait, I’m supposed to state the negative points here, right?

girl boss

This series has so many critics, however, I really enjoyed watching it. Because it’s a story of empowerment in the way Sophia creates her own brand based on her vision.

This show is really good for business owners and companies bosses to watch.

Comment down below if you already watched Girlboss, and don’t hesitate to tell me your favorite tv shows, I’m curious to know. Maybe I’ll watch them and make a review 😉 xx.

 

 

7 Comments

  1. I watched Girl Boss because one of favorite actresses is Britt Robertson. I fell in love with her while watching one of the those low budget Lifetime movies, Triple Dog. Now every time I see her name appear on any movie, I have to watch because I just love how charismatic her character is. She has this attitude that I like, but others may dislike. You should watch her in Ask Me Anything, it’s based on a book called Undyscovered Girl. Girl Boss was pretty good. I watched every episode and was disappointed to see it cancelled. I really didn’t watch it for any reason other than the fact the Britt Robertson was in it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You won’t be disappointed by it!it was so good and that ending will leave you reeling!! Let me know when you watch it. I’d love to talk to someone about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read the book…!! I follow nastygal….
    I haven’t saw the episode… But I shall…
    She is truly a badass..!
    Her book chapter on hire and resume helping me a lot to get my job…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment